Michaels Childrens Village

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them for the Kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”  -Matthew 19:14

A few weeks ago, I visited some old friends I had met a few years ago in Mozambique.  They have since moved to White River, Mpumalanga, South Africa.  (As a reference, they live very close to Kruger National Park.)  They have a beautiful children’s ministry there, Michaels Childrens Village.  MCV is set up as a home-based care model.  As opposed to the traditional orphanage setting, they have three houses in which house parents foster and adopt children through the South African government.  Two sets of house parents are from Mpumalanga province; and the other is a young couple from Australia.

The reason for my visit was Christmas.  Teisa lived in New Orleans for six years and my church there, All Nations Fellowship, knows Jean and Teisa well.  They asked me if I would be willing to shoot a short video of the kids and the home as a promotion for their Christmas events, which mostly involve giving a ton of presents to kids in the community—about 200!  Jean and Teisa call them their “extended family.”

So, watch the video!  And, if you would like, donate.  Jean and Teisa are trying to raise about $200 per child, so about $4000 total.

The music is George Winston playing “Cast Your Fate to the Wind” from Linus and Lucy.  (Other options included Jars of Clay, Kirk Franklin and the Fugees, none of which possessed the requisite Christmas flavor.)  I also have a few other clips of adorable kids being adorable.  Unfortunately, my current WordPress account configuration will not allow me to upload videos to my blog.  But, in order to share the general jolliness of these kids, I am planning to upload a few clips to Facebook.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

